Uninstall and reinstall the CrashPlan app

Overview

Uninstalling and reinstalling the CrashPlan app can be a useful troubleshooting step for a number of unexpected behaviors, including: 

  • You are able to sign into the CrashPlan console but not the desktop app
  • Issues with the CrashPlan service, network communication, or a corrupted cache file

CrashPlan branding changes

Due to recent organizational changes, CrashPlan has separated from Code42 Software. As a result, you may notice inconsistencies in the use of CrashPlan and Code42 branding in the product. This will be addressed in a major app release in early 2023.

Before you begin

You must uninstall the app before reinstalling; make sure you complete all the steps to uninstall the CrashPlan app before reinstalling it.

Step 1: Uninstall the app

Standard uninstall

A standard uninstall leaves a small amount of information on your device so the CrashPlan app can remember your device when you reinstall. Most of the time, you should perform a standard uninstall for troubleshooting issues.

Windows

  1. Open the Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program.
  2. Select CrashPlan and choose Uninstall.

You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. Coordinate with other users to ensure all users are signed out of their accounts before continuing.

Uninstall fails
If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.

Mac

Version 10.4 and later

  1. Go to Applications > Utilities.
  2. Open Terminal.app
  3. The Terminal opens.
  4. Enter the command that corresponds to your installation type:
    Installed for everyone (default):
    sudo /Applications/Code42.app/Contents/Helpers/Uninstall.app/Contents/Resources/uninstall.sh
    Installed per user:
    sudo ~/Applications/Code42.app/Contents/Helpers/Uninstall.app/Contents/Resources/uninstall.sh
  5. The Terminal uninstalls the CrashPlan app.

Version 10.2 and earlier

  1. Open the Finder.
  2. Press Command+Shift+G.
    A dialog box appears: Go to the folder.
  3. Paste this text into the dialog box:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
  4. Click Go.
    If you see the error "The folder can't be found", download the CrashPlan Cloud Mac installer and continue to the next step. 
  5. Double-click Uninstall.
  6. Follow the prompts to complete the uninstall process.

Complete uninstall

A complete uninstall removes the app's identity file so that there is no trace of the previous installation. Follow the steps below only if instructed to do so by a Customer Champion.

Windows

  1. Open the Control Panel, and select Uninstall a Program.
  2. Select CrashPlan and choose Uninstall.
    You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. Coordinate with other users to ensure all users are signed out of their accounts before continuing. If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.
  3. Remove both directories from your device if they exist:
    • C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan
    • C:\Users\<username>\AppData\<Local or Roaming>\CrashPlan
      • Depending on your network environment, user profiles can be either Local or Roaming.

Mac

  1. Open the Finder.
  2. Press Command+Shift+G.
    A dialog box appears: Go to the folder.
  3. Paste this text into the dialog box:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
  4. Click Go.
    If you see the error "The folder can't be found", download the Mac installer, and continue to the next step. 
  5. Double-click Uninstall.
  6. Follow the prompts to uninstall the CrashPlan app.
  7. Remove both directories from your device if they exist:
    •  /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan
    •  ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan

Linux

  1. Download CrashPlan app.
  2. Uncompress the TGZ file in Downloads.
  3. Open Terminal and enter:
    • Version 8.2 and later: cd ~/Downloads/code42-install
  4. Press Enter.
  5. Then enter: sudo ./uninstall.sh -i /usr/local/crashplan
  6. Press Enter.
  7. At the prompt, type YES to uninstall and press Enter.
  8. Remove the following directory from your system: /var/lib/crashplan

Step 2: Install the CrashPlan app

  1. Download the latest version of the CrashPlan app.
  2. Once the download completes, run the installer:
  3. Follow the prompts to complete the installation.
  4. Sign in to your existing account.
  5. If you performed a complete uninstall, continue to Step 3: Reconnect to your backup after a complete uninstall

For additional installation information, see Install the CrashPlan app.

File verification scan
After you sign in, the CrashPlan app begins a file verification scan that inspects your file selection for any new, changed, or deleted files. Your backup continues from its previous state.

Step 3: Reconnect to your backup if you did a complete uninstall

After performing a complete uninstall, you must follow the steps to replace your device in order to reconnect it to your existing backup.

Select Replace Existing when prompted. This will start the replace device process (previously called "adoption") to retain your existing settings and backup progress.

  1. Choose the device with the archive/settings you want to use.
  2. Click Continue. You can identify which device to replace by:
    • Device name: By default, the device name matches the user name on your device.
    • Date Created On: Date the CrashPlan app was initially installed on that device. 

    choose-a-device-to-replace.png

  3. Because you are not switching computers, select Skip File Transfer as your files are still in place.Skip file transfer message
    This message talks about files being marked as deleted. We are just letting you know anything not where it used to be will be marked as deleted in the archive (we are not deleting any files from your computer).
    However, if this is the same computer, all of the data should be where it is expected to be. Even if it's marked as deleted, by default the CrashPlan app does not remove deleted files from your archive.
  4. Select Skip to confirm skipping file transfer. 
  5. Select Continue to transfer your original settings.
    The CrashPlan app resumes normal operation automatically after completing a file verification scan.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more