Organizations - Device Backup Defaults - General settings reference (CrashPlan)

Overview

This reference guide describes an organization's general backup settings for when and how quickly your devices back up, what files to exclude, and when alerts are sent.

Access device backup general settings

To view the general device backup settings, choose Administration > Environment > Organizations. When the Active tab opens, click the organization name. (You may need to expand the parent organization.)  Scroll down to Device Backup Defaults and click the General tab.

To change these default settings for the organization, from the action menu on the Organization Details page, choose Device Backup Defaults, then click the General tab. 

console backup default general tab reference.png

General

Specify general backup settings in the General section.

console backup default general section reference.png

Item Description
a Use device defaults from parent Inherit the device backup settings of the parent (or root) organization. Disable to stop inheritance and allow changes to the device default settings for this organization. 
b User is away when not active for Number of minutes of inactivity after which the user is considered “away.”
c When user is away, use up to

Percent of CPU to use when user is away. 
In CrashPlan app version 8.5 and earlier, Linux devices always use the "away" setting. In CrashPlan app version 8.6 and later, Linux devices detect user activity to determine if the user is present or away.

What does % CPU mean

CPU settings apply to the amount of CPU processing time dedicated to CrashPlan app work, not to total CPU processing capacity. Therefore, while % CPU may be set at 20, for example, a system monitor may show that 70% of CPU capacity is used for the CrashPlan app at a particular point in time. For more information, see Configure CPU usage in the CrashPlan console (CrashPlan).

d When user is present, use up to

Percent of CPU to use when user is not away.

In CrashPlan app version 8.5 and earlier, Linux devices always use the "away" setting. In CrashPlan app version 8.6 and later, Linux devices detect user activity to determine if the user is present or away.

e Stop when battery reaches

Windows and Mac only
Pause backup when remaining battery power is below this level.
f Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
Available in CrashPlan Cloud only.
g Push Applies these settings to existing users in addition to new users.

Alerts

Send Warning and Critical alerts based on number of days since a device reported any backup activity to the CrashPlan cloud.

To customize the backup alert email sent to users, see Customize email templates (CrashPlan).

console backup default general alert reference.png

Item Description
a Not backed up for (Warning) The number of days since last backup activity after which the user receives a Warning message. This is the last of the two messages sent by CrashPlan.
b Not backed up for (Critical) The number of days since last backup activity after which the user receives a Critical message. This is the first of two messages sent by CrashPlan.
c Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
Available in CrashPlan Cloud only.
d Push Applies these settings to existing users in addition to new users.

Inbound backup

Support for inbound backup was removed in CrashPlan app version 6.0. These settings no longer have any effect on your CrashPlan environment.

Hidden filenames

Hidden filenames are files that you want to hide in the CrashPlan app File Selection and Restore windows. Users can view hidden files by clicking the Show Hidden Files check box. You can add files to the Hidden Filenames list using filename patterns or using regular expressions. You can also remove items from this list.
Configurable in CrashPlan Cloud only.

console backup default general hidden filenames reference.png

Item Description
a Platforms Tabs display the filename patterns to hide.
b Enter the filename to hide from the user.
c + Click to add the item to the Hidden Filenames list.
d Regular expression Enter the text in the form of a regular expression (regex).
e List of files and folders to hide. Click X to remove an item from the list so that it is not hidden.
f Import Displays a window in which you can paste the contents of a text file that specifies the filename patterns or regex items to exclude.
g Export Displays a window in which you can copy the contents of the hidden files list. You can then paste these contents into your favorite text editor for editing.
h Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
i Push Applies these settings to existing users in addition to new users.

Global exclusions

The Global Exclusions section identifies files to exclude from the backup. Adding Global Exclusions for files that are already backed up causes those files to be deleted from the backup archive.
Configurable in CrashPlan Cloud only.

console backup default general global exclusions reference.png

Item Description
a Platforms Tabs display the filename patterns to exclude.
b Enter the filename to exclude.
c + Click to add the item to the Hidden Filenames list.
d Regular expression Enter text in the form of a regular expression (regex).
e List of files and folders to exclude. Click X to remove an item from the list so that it is not excluded.
f Import Displays a window in which you can paste the contents of a text file that specifies the filename patterns or regex items to exclude.
g Export Displays a window in which you can copy the contents of the excluded files list. You can then paste these contents into your favorite text editor for editing.
h Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
i Push Applies these settings to existing users in addition to new users.

Cloud exclusions

The Cloud Exclusions section identifies files to exclude from backups to the CrashPlan cloud. Adding Cloud Exclusions for files that are already backed up to the CrashPlan cloud causes those files to be deleted from the backup archive.

These files are still backed up to any configured local destinations (for example, an external hard drive). 
Configurable in CrashPlan Cloud only.

console backup default general cloud exclusions reference.png

Item Description
a Platforms Tabs display the filename patterns to exclude.
b Enter the filename to exclude.
c + Click to add the item to the Hidden Filenames list.
d Regular expression Enter text in the form of a regular expression (regex).
e List of files and folders to exclude. Click X to remove an item from the list so that it is not excluded.
f Import Displays a window in which you can paste the contents of a text file that specifies the filename patterns or regex items to exclude.
g Export Displays a window in which you can copy the contents of the excluded files list. You can then paste these contents into your favorite text editor for editing.
h Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
i Push Applies these settings to existing users in addition to new users.

macOS agent full disk access notification

Due to Apple privacy restrictions, administrators must grant CrashPlan permission to access specific applications and locations on user devices to ensure the CrashPlan app is able to back up all areas of the device. This setting determines whether users see a message in the CrashPlan app if the permissions are not configured correctly.

console backup default general full disk access notification reference.png

Item Description
a Inherit settings from parent
  • Selected: This organization inherits the full disk access notification setting of the parent organization. When selected, the Display dialog in the agent setting cannot be changed individually for this organization.
  • Deselected: Allows the setting to be changed for this organization, as it does not inherit the setting from the parent organization.
b Display dialog in the agent
  • Selected: A warning message appears in the CrashPlan app for macOS users if full disk access permissions are not configured to allow CrashPlan access to all files on the device. 
  • Deselected: No message appears in the CrashPlan app, even if CrashPlan does not have the permissions necessary to back up all areas of the device.
c Lock Locks this setting to prevent child organizations from changing it.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more