Optimize energy settings for CrashPlan

This article applies to all products.png

Overview

If your device is asleep or turned off, the CrashPlan app doesn't run, and therefore it can't back up or download files. If you need to back up or download a large number of files, disable your device's sleep settings. This article provides links to information about modifying your device's energy settings to facilitate uninterrupted backup and download tasks.

Considerations

Disabling your sleep settings is especially useful if you are completing your initial backup or downloading all of your files after replacing your device. However, it can be used any time you need the CrashPlan app to back up or download a large amount of data. This can significantly reduce the time it takes to complete the backup or download process.

Once the CrashPlan app is done backing up or downloading your files, you can change the sleep settings back to their original settings.

 Will the CrashPlan app run while I am logged out?

When CrashPlan app is installed for everyone (default), it continues to run even if you are not logged in to your device. If you log out, the CrashPlan app continues to back up your files as long as the device is awake. However, if the CrashPlan app is installed per user, then you must be signed in to your device for backup to occur.

Changing default sleep settings

Select your operating system for instructions on disabling your device's default sleep settings.

Hibernate and power nap

Other sleep settings include "hibernate" (Windows) and "power nap" (Mac). The CrashPlan app cannot back up or download files during these states.  

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section