Cancel your subscription (Small Business)

Overview

We hope you stay with CrashPlan for Small Business for a long time, but if for some reason you would like to cancel, this tutorial explains how to do so.

When you cancel your subscription, your data remains protected in our CrashPlan cloud until your subscription period ends. You can also deactivate your account to end your subscription immediately if necessary.

Considerations

Refunds

No refunds are available for CrashPlan for Small Business. Your monthly CrashPlan for Small Business subscription grants you access to our backup service until the end of your subscription term.

Data retention

CrashPlan retains your data until your subscription ends, even if you decide not to continue backing up new or changed data. Data backed up to the CrashPlan cloud is retained for a short grace period prior to removal. To learn more about what happens to your data after a subscription or trial ends, see our data retention policy.

Cancel your subscription

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan console.
  2. Go to Account.
  3. Select Manage My Subscription.
  4. Select Details for your current subscription.
  5. For Automatic Renewals, select Off
  6. In the Stop Automatic Billing window, select Yes.
    Refresh the page to ensure you see the updated setting. You will receive an email confirming the change.     

When you cancel your subscription, your data is retained in the CrashPlan cloud until the end of your subscription and you will still receive email reports. To remove your data immediately from the CrashPlan cloud and stop email reports from being sent, you must also deactivate your account.

Deactivate your CrashPlan for Small Business account

Deactivating all devices on your account stops email reports from being sent and removes your data immediately from the CrashPlan cloud. Accounts without an active subscription are automatically removed from our system after 90 days.

 Data cannot be recovered

Deactivating devices from your CrashPlan for Small Business account completely removes all backup data and computer information from the CrashPlan cloud. Data removed in this way cannot be recovered.

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan console.
  2. Click Devices in the navigation menu.
  3. Click on the name of the device that you want to deactivate so that it brings up the device details pane.
  4. Open the Action Menu (action_menu_gear.png ) in the upper-right.
  5. Click Deactivate
  6. When prompted, check the box and click OK to confirm the device deactivation and archive deletion.
  7. After deactivating all devices, select Reporting from the top navigation menu.
  8. Uncheck Send report to admins

Since all accounts without an active subscription are removed from our system after 90 days, you don't need to take any further action to deactivate your account. For more information on how your personal information is handled, see our compliance documentation.

Uninstall the CrashPlan app

To remove the CrashPlan app from your devices after deactivating all devices on your account, follow the Complete uninstall process at Uninstall CrashPlan for Small Business

Cancel versus deactivate details

The following table explains the difference between cancel and deactivate in more detail: 

Result Cancel Deactivate
Stop ongoing backups Yes

Yes

Data remains protected in the CrashPlan cloud until the end of your subscription period per our data retention policy Yes No, removes all your backup data and computer information from the CrashPlan cloud
Local backups remain available No, not unless you re-subscribe No, backup data cannot be recovered  
Can use this CrashPlan for Small Business account again Yes, purchase a new subscription within the time limits listed in our data retention policy No, you would need to create a new account
Can restore from your CrashPlan cloud backup archive by purchasing a new subscription within the time limits detailed in our data retention policy Yes No
Ends subscription immediately No, it ends when your subscription period ends Yes
Stops all reports No Yes
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 25 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more