Agent customizations (CrashPlan)

Overview

This tutorial explains how to apply customized co-branding, login field labels, and in-app messaging to CrashPlan apps in your CrashPlan environment.

Considerations

 Before you begin

For customizations to appear on the login screen the first time the CrashPlan app is launched on a new device (before the user signs in), you must install a CrashPlan deployment policy on each device. Without a deployment policy, customizations do not appear until after the user signs in for the first time.

Create and edit a customization template

Customizations for login field labels, co-branding images, and in-app messages are all optional. Follow the steps below for only the aspects you want to customize.

 Co-branding and custom messages availability

Co-branding images and custom messages are only available for customers whose product plans support co-branding and customization. Custom client login fields are available in all product plans.

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan console.
  2. Navigate to Administration > Agent Management > Customizations.
    • To create a new template, click Add Template. If no templates exist yet, click Create New Template.
    • To edit an existing template, click the template's name.
  3. Enter a name for the template.
  4. Select an organization to customize. To apply the template to all organizations, select the name of the organization at the top of your hierarchy.
    Customizations apply to child organizations unless a child organization has its own template.
  5. (Optional) Enter a custom label for the username field on the CrashPlan app sign in screen. 
    The default label is "Username." You can customize the label to provide more direction if necessary (for example, "Your directory services username").
  6. (Optional) Enter a custom label for the password field on the CrashPlan app sign in screen.
    The default label is "Password." You can customize the label to provide more direction if necessary (for example, "Your directory services password").
  7. (Optional) Upload a co-branding image to display next to the CrashPlan logo on the About screen in the CrashPlan app.
    The image must be a .png or .jpg file type and be 50 KB or less. Maximum image dimensions (W x H) are 242 x 36 pixels.
  8. (Optional) Upload a co-branding image to display next to the CrashPlan logo in the CrashPlan app login screen and header.
    The image must be a .png or .jpg file type and be 50 KB or less. Maximum image dimensions (W x H) are 400 x 24 pixels.
  9. (Optional) Add a custom message to the CrashPlan app home screen. Basic html formatting tags are allowed.
    See the Agent Management Customizations reference guide for detailed requirements.
  10. (Optional) Select to allow users to dismiss the message (if you change the message, the new message appears to users even if the previous message was dismissed). If not selected, the message is permanently displayed in the CrashPlan app.
  11. Click Save.
    Changes to customization settings for a specific organization appear on user devices immediately. Changes to customization settings for the top-level Default organization in an on-premises CrashPlan environment may take up to 24 hours to appear on user devices.

Customization_Template_Create_New_Tutorial-870-export.png

Delete a customization template

Deleting a template removes the customizations from devices in the applicable organizations. If another template exists for a parent organization, devices will start displaying the parent organization's customizations. If no other templates apply, the CrashPlan app returns to the default appearance.

To delete a customization template:

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan console.
  2. Navigate to Administration > Agent Management > Customizations.
  3. Click the template's name.
  4. Click Delete Template.

 Remove customizations without deleting the template

To preserve customization settings for future use:

  1. Edit the template.
  2. In the Select an organization to customize dropdown, click the currently selected organization's name.
    This removes the organization, resulting in a template that doesn't apply to any organizations.
  3. Click Save.

This allows you to edit the template again later and re-assign it to an organization, and maintains the existing customization settings.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more