Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Uninstalling And Reinstalling The CrashPlan App

Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan PRO documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

Uninstalling and reinstalling the CrashPlan app is a common troubleshooting step for any of the following symptoms:

  • Error messages like Cannot connect to backup service
  • Network communication issues
  • Corrupted cache files

Before you uninstall and reinstall, we recommend clearing the CrashPlan app cache as a faster troubleshooting option.

Step 1: Uninstall

Standard uninstall

A standard uninstall removes the CrashPlan app from your computer. An identity file is left on your computer in case you reinstall in the future.

Windows

  1. Open the Control Panel, and select Uninstall a Program.
  2. Select CrashPlan for Home and choose Uninstall.

You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. Code42 recommends coordinating with other users to ensure all users are signed out of the account before continuing.

Uninstall Fails
If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.

macOS and OS X

  1. Open the Finder.
  2. Press Command-Shift-G
    A Go to the folder dialog box appears.
  3. Paste this text into the dialog box:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
  4. Click Go.
  5. Double-click Uninstall.
  6. Follow the prompts to complete the uninstall process.

Linux

  1. Download the latest version of CrashPlan for Home.
  2. Uncompress the TGZ file to Downloads.
  3. Open Terminal and enter:
     cd ~/Downloads/crashplan-install
    
  4. Press Enter.
  5. Then enter:
    sudo ./uninstall.sh -i /usr/local/crashplan
  6. Press Enter.
  7. At the prompt, type YES to uninstall and press Enter.

Complete uninstall

A complete uninstall removes the CrashPlan app as well as your computer's identity file and any backups on your computer, such as friend backups or backups from another computer. Only perform a complete uninstall if:

Complete Uninstall Removes Inbound Backup Files
If you or a friend backs up to this computer, a complete uninstall permanently deletes all of the files backed up to this computer. Move the inbound backup archive to a new location if you plan to reinstall CrashPlan. The inbound backup folder's default location:

If installed for everyone (default):
  • Windows: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\backupArchives
  • OS X: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/backupArchives
  • Linux: /usr/local/var/crashplan/
If installed per user:
  • Windows: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\<Local or Roaming>\CrashPlan\backupArchives
  • OS X: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/backupArchives

To completely uninstall the CrashPlan app:

  1. Follow the instructions above for a standard uninstall.
  2. Delete this folder from your computer:
    • Windows:
      • If installed for everyone: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan
      • If installed per user: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\<Local or Roaming>\CrashPlan
    • macOS and OS X:
      • If installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan
      • If installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
    • Linux/var/lib/crashplan

Step 2: Reinstall

  1. Download the latest version of CrashPlan for Home.
  2. Once the download completes, unzip the installer.
  3. Run the CrashPlan Installer:
    • Windows: Double-click the CrashPlan EXE file.
    • OS X: Double-click the CrashPlan DMG file, then double-click Install CrashPlan.
    • Linux: Run the installer using this command: sudo ./install.sh
  4. Follow the prompts to complete the installation.
  5. Once the installation is complete, choose Existing Account on the sign in screen and enter your CrashPlan account information.

Additional installation information is available in the Installing CrashPlan article.

After you sign in, the CrashPlan app begins a file verification scan that inspects your file selection for any new, changed, or deleted files. Your backup continues from its previous state.

Adopt after a complete uninstall

If you performed a complete uninstall, you must adopt your previous computer to reconnect to your existing backup.