- CrashPlan for Home
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan PRO documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.
The message Out Of Space At Destination - Disk Quota Reached displays when a size limit is imposed by the destination and your archive has reached that size. This message most commonly occurs on Friend destinations that have an archive size limit set. However, you may also receive this message for CrashPlan Central if you use CrashPlan for Home's legacy 10 GB subscription.
A backup archive cannot be "split" between two locations. Consequently, if a drive destination becomes full, you must either:
- Move your backup archive to a larger drive if you would like to continue backing up your entire backup file selection and keep all existing files and versions, or
- Reduce the size of your backup archive if you do not want to move your backup archive to a larger drive.
If you decide to reduce the size of your backup archive by removing files or versions, you will not be able to restore those files or versions once they are removed from your backup archive. Additionally, if your files haven't changed frequently or significantly, reducing the number of versions retained may only have a minor impact on the overall size of your archive.
Note: If you don't want to continue backing up to the drive, you can remove the backup destination. Your backup archive will be deleted.
Recommended solution: Move backup archive to a larger drive
You can update the folder destination from the CrashPlan app to have CrashPlan move an entire backup archive for you. However, for larger archives, it may be faster to manually copy the archive, then attach the archive to your account using the CrashPlan app. For complete instructions on both methods, see our tutorial Moving A Backup Archive To A New Folder Or Drive.
Alternative solution: Reduce backup archive size
If you do not want to move your backup archive to a larger drive, you can reduce the size of your archive by removing files from your backup file selection or updating your version retention settings to save fewer versions. The files and versions will be removed from your backup archive as part of regularly scheduled archive maintenance, or you can manually trigger archive maintenance, as described in the articles linked above.
Please note that, once files or versions are removed, they are permanently deleted from your backup archive and you won't be able to restore these files or versions.