Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

New Subscription Key Appears To Revert To Old Key

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home

Overview

When entering a new subscription key in Settings > Account in the CrashPlan app, the key appears to be saved, but then it reverts to an old key, even if the old key is expired.

The CrashPlan app only displays one key at a time, and if both keys are Family subscriptions (account-wide rather than device-specific), the key for the oldest subscription is displayed. Saving the new key does apply it to the account, but the old key will continue to show until it is inactivated.

Affects

Users of CrashPlan for Home with a family subscription on all platforms

Recommended solution

To stop the old license key from displaying, the subscription with the old key needs to be canceled:

  1. Sign in to My Account
  2. In the Subscriptions section, locate the expired subscription and click Cancel
    The old license key will become inactive within 24 hours. The new key populates in the license field automatically.

Canceling the old key will also prevent it from auto-renewing unexpectedly in the future.