Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Missing Files From The Restore Tab

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home
Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan PRO documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

If you notice that some or all of your files appear to be missing from the Restore tab, read this tutorial to troubleshoot the issue.

Under the hood

There are several possible causes:

  • Files were removed from the file selection and were consequently removed from the archive
  • Files were deleted from the source computer and now they are marked as deleted in the archive
  • Issues with CrashPlan's local cache files

Confirm your backup file selection

First, check your file selection in Backup > Files > Change to confirm that the files are included in your backup file selection. Removing files or folders from the backup file selection also removes them from the archive. If necessary, update your file selection to include the files.

If the files were moved to a location outside of the backup file selection, you can add the new location to your selection. CrashPlan will de-duplicate the data so it won't have to upload it again, and it will register that it's also being backed up from this new location.

Check your deleted files

If files were deleted from the source computer, they remain in the archive for as long as your deleted file retention settings specify (Settings > Backup > Frequency and Versions). To view and restore deleted files, check the show deleted files checkbox in the Restore tab.

Check for cache issues

If the previous steps haven't resolved the issue, your CrashPlan app may have cache issues. If you see all of the following conditions, this may indicate a problem with your local CrashPlan cache:

  • Restore screen displays “no files found”
  • Backup says it is 100% complete, or has recently been 100% complete
  • Files are displayed in Restore tab if you search for a specific file that you know has been backed up
  • Files are available via web restore (if backing up to CrashPlan Central)

This is a display issue and is normally resolved by clearing your CrashPlan cache so the cache can rebuild itself. Clearing the cache is a safe operation and no backup data is at risk.

To rebuild the cache, you can use the backup.replace command described below.

Note: Upon issuing the command, CrashPlan immediately erases its cache files on your computer and starts synchronizing your file selection to your backup destinations. While it may look like the backup process is starting over, CrashPlan is rebuilding your cache. Please allow CrashPlan time to complete this process.

Clear your cache from the CrashPlan app

  1. Open the CrashPlan app
  2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper right
    The CrashPlan command-line area opens
  3. Enter the command that corresponds to your location:
    • US and international customers (excluding Australia and New Zealand), enter backup.replace 42
    • Australia and New Zealand customers, enter backup.replace 61
  4. Press Enter

Clear your cache manually

  1. Stop the CrashPlan service
  2. Navigate to the cache directory for your operating system:
    • Windows Vista, 7, 8, 10, Server 2008, and Server 2012: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\cache
      To view this hidden folder, open a file browser and paste the path in the address bar. If you installed per user, see the file and folder hierarchy for file locations.
    • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\CrashPlan\cache
      To view this hidden folder, open a file browser and paste the path in the address bar. If you installed per user, see the file and folder hierarchy for file locations.
    • OS X: /Library/Caches/CrashPlan
      If you installed per user, see the file and folder hierarchy.
    • Linux: /usr/local/crashplan/cache

CrashPlan Cache Folder Mac

  1. Delete all files and folders found within this folder
    If you are only having trouble with Friend (computer-to-computer) or local backups, delete all files and folders that are not numbered 41, 42, 43, 61, 62, or 63
  2. Empty your computer's trash
  3. Start the CrashPlan service