Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Installing CrashPlan Prompts For Access To Contacts, Calendar, And Tasks

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home
Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan for Small Business documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

When installing or upgrading the CrashPlan app you may be prompted to grant CrashPlan access to your contacts, calendar, and tasks. This article explains why CrashPlan asks for access to these files and provides information on how to proceed.

Affects

The CrashPlan app on Mac OS X

Diagnosing

When the CrashPlan app is installed with standard user permissions, you may be presented with messages to access your calendar, contacts, and tasks.

Calendar Access

By default, CrashPlan selects your user folder for backup, which includes the following locations that OS X prompts for access to:

/Users/{user}/Library/Application Support/AddressBook/
/Users/{user}/Library/Calendar/
/Users/{user}/Library/Containers/com.apple.reminders/Data/

Recommended solution

Click Ok to allow CrashPlan access to back up the contents of your user folder. If you select Don't Allow, CrashPlan will proceed with backing up everything other than your contacts, calendars and tasks.

Alternative solution

Uninstall and reinstall with the default administrator permissions.