Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

CrashPlan App Prompts For Archive Password After Upgrading

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home
Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan PRO documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

If you installed the CrashPlan app "on top" of an existing installation of the CrashPlan app without first uninstalling the old version, you may be prompted to create a password to secure the backup archive. To correct this issue, you can uninstall and reinstall the CrashPlan app using the steps described below.

Affects

Windows, OS X, Linux, and Solaris computers where a version of the CrashPlan app was manually installed (not auto-upgraded) before uninstalling the existing version.

Considerations

  • To upgrade or reinstall the CrashPlan app, you must uninstall the existing CrashPlan app, then reinstall the new version of the CrashPlan app. The CrashPlan app is not designed to have the app installed “on top” of an existing installation.
  • If you enter a password or archive question when prompted by this message, the information will not make changes to your account and will not upgrade your security settings. However, we strongly recommend following the solution below to ensure no further issues with your CrashPlan app installation.

Diagnosing

If you install the CrashPlan app on a computer with an existing installation of the app, the following message displays when the app is opened:

Archive Password Prompt

Recommended solution

Step 1: Uninstall the CrashPlan app

These steps describe how to perform a standard uninstall, which leaves a small amount of information on your computer so CrashPlan can remember your computer when you reinstall.

Operating System Standard Uninstall
Windows
  1. Open the Control Panel, and select Uninstall a Program.
  2. Select CrashPlan for Home and choose Uninstall.

You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. Code42 recommends coordinating with other users to ensure all users are signed out of the account before continuing.

Uninstall Fails
If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.
Mac OS X
  1. Open the Finder.
  2. Press Command-Shift-G
    A Go to the folder dialog box appears.
  3. Paste this text into the dialog box:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
  4. Click Go.
  5. Double-click Uninstall.
  6. Follow the prompts to complete the uninstall process.
Linux
  1. Download the latest version of CrashPlan for Home.
  2. Uncompress the TGZ file to Downloads.
  3. Open Terminal and enter:
     cd ~/Downloads/crashplan-install
    
  4. Press Enter.
  5. Then enter:
    sudo ./uninstall.sh -i /usr/local/crashplan
  6. Press Enter.
  7. At the prompt, type YES to uninstall and press Enter.

Step 2: Reinstall the CrashPlan app

  1. Download the latest version of CrashPlan for Home.
  2. Once the download completes, unzip the installer.
  3. Run the CrashPlan Installer:
    • Windows: Double-click the CrashPlan EXE file.
    • OS X: Double-click the CrashPlan DMG file, then double-click Install CrashPlan.
    • Linux: Run the install.sh shell script.
  4. Follow the prompts to complete the installation.
  5. Once the installation is complete, choose Existing Account on the sign in screen and enter your CrashPlan account information.

Additional installation information is available in the Installing CrashPlan article.