Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Connection Shows Network Blocked

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home
Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan for Small Business documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

The CrashPlan app displays a Network Blocked message when configured to block a specific network connection. Blocking a network may be useful if, for example, you want to block the wireless network at work so that CrashPlan doesn't use company bandwidth. This article includes instructions for blocking and unblocking CrashPlan's access to available networks.

Diagnosing

If the only available networks are blocked, then the backup status displays as Backup paused - network blocked.

Network Blocked

Recommended solution

Follow the steps below to prevent the CrashPlan app from blocking certain networks for backup.

Network Settings

  1. Open the CrashPlan app
  2. Select Settings > Network
  3. From Network interfaces, click Configure
    A window opens showing all available network interfaces
    Network Interfaces
  4. Check all of the networks you want the CrashPlan app to use
  5. Click Ok to save your changes
  6. From Wireless networks, click Configure
    A window opens showing all available wireless networks
    Wireless Interfaces
  7. Check all of the wireless networks you want the CrashPlan app to use
  8. Click Ok to save your changes
  9. Click Backup to verify the Network Blocked message no longer displays