Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Migrate your CrashPlan for Home account to CrashPlan for Small Business

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home

Your backup

Do my backups continue automatically?
Backup type Does it continue?
Cloud backups to CrashPlan Central Yes, except very large backups over 5 TB
Local backups, such as external hard drives Yes
Computer-to-computer backups, such as backing up to a friend No

 

What happens to my cloud backups to CrashPlan Central?

Most backups to CrashPlan Central continue automatically. 

There is one exception: cloud backups that are larger than 5 TB cannot be migrated to CrashPlan for Small Business, due to technical platform constraints. 

If one of your computers has more than 5 TB of data backed up to CrashPlan Central, that computer's cloud backup is permanently lost when you migrate. That computer starts a new backup when you migrate your account to CrashPlan for Small Business. Local backups on that same computer are not affected.

What happens to my local backups, such as backups to external hard drives?

Your computers continue to back up to and restore from local destinations just as they do today. You don't need to restart these backups when you migrate your account.

What happens to my computer-to-computer backups?

CrashPlan for Small Business does not support computer-to-computer backups. Before you migrate to CrashPlan for Small Business, you can move existing computer-to-computer backup archives from the computer to an external drive and continue backing up to it on the external drive.

Migrating deletes computer-to-computer backups
When you migrate your account from CrashPlan for Home to CrashPlan for Small Business:
  • Your computer stops backing up to any other computer. (Backups to CrashPlan PRO Online and to external drives continue normally.)
  • All files and folders in your computer-to-computer backup are permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Move existing backups before you migrate to preserve your backup.
Do I need to install a new CrashPlan app?

No. The conversion process automatically updates the CrashPlan app on your computers. Instead of the green-themed CrashPlan for Home branding, you'll see the blue-themed CrashPlan for Small Business branding.

What happens to the backups for computers I choose not to migrate?

If you choose not to migrate some computers on your account, the backups from those computers are permanently lost.

What encryption protocol does CrashPlan for Small Business use to protect my data?

CrashPlan for Small Business uses AES-256 encryption, while CrashPlan for Home uses Blowfish encryption. After you migrate your account, any new or updated files will be encrypted with AES-256 encryption, but the files you've already backed up will still be encrypted with Blowfish.

For more information, read about our security and encryption options.

Your account

Can I undo this change?

No. Once you migrate your CrashPlan for Home account to CrashPlan for Small Business, you can't migrate it back to CrashPlan for Home.

Does my CrashPlan for Home subscription continue?

No. This process permanently changes your existing CrashPlan for Home subscription into a CrashPlan for Small Business subscription.

Can I migrate my account to CrashPlan for Small Business and keep some devices on CrashPlan for Home?

No. This process migrates your account and all the devices you select.

Why do I need to provide more information when migrating my CrashPlan for Home account?

This process collects the same information that we request from all our new CrashPlan for Small Business customers, such as your business's location and number of employees.

We only collect and use information about our customers to improve our products. For more information, see our Privacy Policy.

Can I migrate to CrashPlan for Small Business after my CrashPlan for Home subscription has expired?

Yes.

Depending on when your subscription expired, your backups may have already been removed according to our CrashPlan for Home retention policy for expired subscriptions.

CrashPlan for Small Business billing

What does CrashPlan for Small Business cost?

All CrashPlan for Small Business subscriptions are billed at the same, monthly rate: $10 (US dollars) per month per computer.

Special migration discount
As a special offer related to this migration process, we're offering a discounted rate for 12 months for CrashPlan for Home customers who migrate to CrashPlan for Small Business. Sign in to the migration tool for billing information specific to you.

For example, if you have three computers using CrashPlan for Small Business, we bill you $30. If you add four more devices later, we bill you a total of $70. The billing change happens automatically, based on the number of computers on your CrashPlan for Small Business account.

Is my existing CrashPlan for Home subscription balance applied to my CrashPlan for Small Business account?

Yes. As a one-time conversion step, we apply any remaining CrashPlan for Home subscription to your CrashPlan for Small Business subscription. The conversion tool shows you how much subscription time is applied. You are not billed for CrashPlan for Small Business until that subscription time ends.

What happens to my CrashPlan for Home family plan?

When you migrate your CrashPlan for Home account to CrashPlan for Small Business, your family plan subscription becomes a standard CrashPlan for Small Business subscription. You are billed like any other CrashPlan for Small Business account, as described above.

Can I have a refund instead of transferring my balance?

No. CrashPlan for Home subscriptions are non-refundable, except as required by law.