Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Combining Separate CrashPlan For Home Accounts

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home

Overview

This tutorial explains how to combine two separate CrashPlan for Home accounts into a single account. Typically, this process is only recommended if you would like to license the computers from these accounts under a single family subscription. When you combine two accounts, you must must restart the backups of one account's devices.

To combine individual subscriptions under the same account into a family subscription, see Combining Individual Subscriptions Into A Family Plan instead.

Considerations

To modify your existing CrashPlan for Home subscription, you must purchase a new subscription and cancel your previous subscription (see steps below).

  • Canceling a subscription means automatic renewals no longer occur.
  • You can continue to back up and restore your files for the length of the subscription, even if you decide to cancel it.
  • CrashPlan subscriptions are non-refundable. Therefore, consider waiting until closer to the time your subscription ends to make a change.
Restart The Backup
When combining accounts, you must restart the backups for one of the account's devices. You will lose the file version history for any device that restarts the backup.

You must restart backups when moving a device to a new account because all CrashPlan backup archives are securely encrypted with a unique encryption key. It is not possible to transfer encryption keys between accounts.

Purchase family subscription and combine two accounts

If neither account is currently licensed with a family subscription, follow the steps below. If one of the accounts already has a family subscription, follow the steps for combining two accounts and using an existing subscription instead.

For the purpose of this example, the instructions below assume you want to purchase a family subscription for "Mom's Account" and move all of the computers from "Dad's Account" to "Mom's Account." In this example, Mom's Account is the account with the largest backup selection.

Step 1: Identify the account you are keeping

You must start backups for one of the accounts over again. This includes backups to CrashPlan Central, folders (such as external drives), and other computers.

To minimize the amount of time needed to back up, we recommend identifying the account with the most data currently backed up. Since backups to CrashPlan Central will take the longest to re-create, we suggest keeping the account with the most data backed up to CrashPlan Central. To check the amount of data backed up to CrashPlan Central:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Go to Destinations > Cloud.
  3. Select CrashPlan Central from the Cloud storage list.

Spaced used represents the total amount of data backed up. If there are multiple computers on an account, add up the total amount backed up to CrashPlan Central for each account. You should apply the new family subscription to the account with the most data first (Step 2 below). In our example, "Mom's Account" has the largest backup archive.

Step 2: Purchase and apply family subscription to Mom's account

  1. Purchase your new subscription from our store.
  2. From a computer using Mom's Account (the account you are keeping), open the CrashPlan app.
  3. From Settings > Account > License, enter the new license key.

Step 3: Add Dad's computers to Mom's account

You must start the backup over for all of the computers on the account that you are canceling. Follow the steps below to change the account for these computer(s) and restart the backups.

  1. From a computer using Dad's Account, open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper-right corner.
    The command window opens.
  3. Enter this command:guid new
  4. Press Enter.
    You are signed out of the CrashPlan app.
  5. On the sign in screen, select Existing Account.
  6. Sign in with the email address and password for Mom's account.
  7. Start Dad's backup under Mom's account.
  8. Repeat these steps for any additional computers still using Dad's Account.
Completing The Backup To Your New Account
To ensure your files are continuously protected, make sure your new backup is complete before your old subscription expires.

Step 4: Cancel the subscriptions you no longer want

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan web app for Mom's Account.
  2. Cancel the subscription you no longer want.
  3. Sign in to the CrashPlan web app for Dad's Account.
  4. Cancel the subscription you no longer want.

Combine accounts under existing family subscription

If one of the accounts already has a family subscription, you can move computers from another account to it by following the steps below. You will need to start backups over for computers on the account you are moving.

  1. From the computer you want to move, open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper-right corner.
    The command window opens.
  3. Enter this command:guid new
  4. Press Enter.
    You are signed out of the CrashPlan app.
  5. On the sign in screen, select Existing Account.
  6. Sign in with the email address and password for the account with the family subscription.
  7. Start your backup under the account with the family subscription.
  8. Repeat these steps for any additional computers you are eliminating.
  9. Cancel the subscription you no longer want.
Completing The Backup To Your New Account
To ensure your files are continuously protected, make sure your new backup is complete before your old subscription expires.

Automatic renewals and canceled subscriptions

If you enable automatic renewals for your new subscription, you may receive notifications about your canceled subscriptions.

Enabling automatic renewals does not reactivate a canceled subscription. However, there is a known issue with canceling a subscription, then enabling Automatically renew subscriptions in My Account.

Diagnosing

If you enable Automatically renew subscriptions in My Account when you have a canceled subscription:

  • You will receive an email about changing your renewal setting, which includes a date for your canceled subscription.
  • You will see a date in My Account > Subscriptions for your canceled subscription.

In both cases, this date is the expiration date for the canceled subscription, not a renewal date.

You do not need to do anything. Your canceled subscription will not renew, and you will not be charged. Any other subscriptions that have not been canceled will continue to automatically renew.