- CrashPlan for Home
This tutorial explains how to combine multiple individual subscriptions under the same account (same account email and password) into a family plan.
To combine individual subscriptions under different accounts, see Combining Separate CrashPlan for Home Accounts instead.
To modify your existing CrashPlan for Home subscription, you must purchase a new subscription and cancel your previous subscription (see steps below).
- Canceling a subscription means automatic renewals no longer occur.
- You can continue to back up and restore your files for the length of the subscription, even if you decide to cancel it.
- CrashPlan subscriptions are non-refundable. Therefore, consider waiting until closer to the time your subscription ends to make a change.
Impact to backup
Within a single account, you can switch your subscription at any time without affecting your existing backups. You are not required to re-upload your data when switching subscriptions within an account.
When combining two individual subscriptions that are under the same account into a family plan, follow the steps below to purchase the family plan first, then apply it to each computer before canceling the individual subscriptions.
- Purchase the family subscription from our store.
- Open the CrashPlan app on one of the computers with an existing individual subscription.
- Go to Settings > Account > License.
- Enter the license key for your new family subscription.
- Repeat steps 2-4 for your remaining computers.
- Sign in to the CrashPlan web app.
- Cancel the individual subscriptions you no longer want.
Turning on automatic renewals
If you turn on automatic renewals for your new family subscription, you may receive notifications about your canceled individual subscription as well.
If you enable Automatically renew subscriptions in My Account when you have a canceled subscription:
- You will receive an email about changing your renewal setting, which includes a date for your canceled subscription.
- You will see a date in My Account > Subscriptions for your canceled subscription.
In both cases, this date is the expiration date for the canceled subscription, not a renewal date.
You do not need to do anything. Your canceled subscription will not renew, and you will not be charged. Any other subscriptions that have not been canceled will continue to automatically renew.