Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Canceling Your CrashPlan Subscription

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home

Overview

This tutorial provides a step-by-step guide for canceling your subscription.

To immediately stop using CrashPlan and delete all your backups, delete your account.

Considerations

  • Canceling a subscription means automatic renewals no longer occur.
  • You can continue to back up and restore your files for the length of the subscription, even if you decide to cancel it.
  • CrashPlan subscriptions are non-refundable. Therefore, consider waiting until closer to the time your subscription ends to make a change.
  • If you purchased your subscription through PayPal, see our additional instructions for canceling your subscription.

Step 1: Cancel your subscription

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan web app.
  2. Click the Subscriptions tab.
  3. From the Actions column, click Cancel for the subscription you no longer want.
  4. Review the information presented.
  5. Click Cancel Subscription.
    You can continue to back up and restore files for the length of your subscription.
View Your Subscription's Expiration Date

After you cancel your subscription, you will receive a receipt for the total price of the subscription. You will not receive another email before your subscription expires.

If you want to restore files from CrashPlan Central, you must restore them before your subscription’s expiration date. You can view your subscription’s expiration date in the CrashPlan app under Settings > Account or in the CrashPlan web app under Account > Subscription.

If you do not purchase a new subscription, your backup data stored on CrashPlan Central will be removed when your subscription expires. Your cloud backup data will not be removed at this time. If you wish to immediately stop using CrashPlan for Home and delete all your backups, delete your account.

If you do not delete your account, you can continue to use CrashPlan for Home without a subscription to back up to external drives, other computers, or friend destinations.

Step 2: Delete your account (optional)

Delete your CrashPlan for Home account to immediately stop using CrashPlan for Home and delete all of your backups.