Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Uninstalling The CrashPlan App

Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan for Small Business documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

This article explains how to uninstall the CrashPlan app from your computer.

Uninstalling the CrashPlan app removes the log files associated with your backups on this computer. If you're uninstalling as part of a troubleshooting process, send your log files to our Customer Champions before uninstalling.

Standard uninstall

A standard uninstall removes the CrashPlan app from your computer. An identity file is left on your computer in case you reinstall in the future.

Windows

  1. Open the Control Panel, and select Uninstall a Program.
  2. Select CrashPlan for Home and choose Uninstall.

You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. Code42 recommends coordinating with other users to ensure all users are signed out of the account before continuing.

Uninstall Fails
If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.

macOS and OS X

  1. Open the Finder.
  2. Press Command-Shift-G
    A Go to the folder dialog box appears.
  3. Paste this text into the dialog box:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
  4. Click Go.
  5. Double-click Uninstall.
  6. Follow the prompts to complete the uninstall process.

Linux

  1. Download the latest version of CrashPlan for Home.
  2. Uncompress the TGZ file to Downloads.
  3. Open Terminal and enter:
     cd ~/Downloads/crashplan-install
    
  4. Press Enter.
  5. Then enter:
    sudo ./uninstall.sh -i /usr/local/crashplan
  6. Press Enter.
  7. At the prompt, type YES to uninstall and press Enter.

Complete uninstall

A complete uninstall removes the CrashPlan app, your computer's identity file, and any backups on your computer, such as friend backups or backups from another computer. Only perform a complete uninstall if:

Complete Uninstall Removes Inbound Backup Files
If you or a friend backs up to this computer, a complete uninstall permanently deletes all of the files backed up to this computer. Move the inbound backup archive to a new location if you plan to reinstall CrashPlan. The inbound backup folder's default location:

If installed for everyone (default):
  • Windows: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\backupArchives
  • OS X: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/backupArchives
  • Linux: /usr/local/var/crashplan/
If installed per user:
  • Windows: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\<Local or Roaming>\CrashPlan\backupArchives
  • OS X: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/backupArchives

To completely uninstall the CrashPlan app:

  1. Follow the instructions above for a standard uninstall.
  2. Delete the following folder from your computer:
    • Windows:
      • If installed for everyone: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan
      • If installed per user: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\<Local or Roaming>\CrashPlan
    • macOS and OS X:
      • If installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan
      • If installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
    • Linux/var/lib/crashplan