Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Restore Reference

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home
Need enterprise or small business documentation?
This article is intended for CrashPlan for Home users. For Code42 CrashPlan and CrashPlan for Small Business documentation, read this page on our enterprise support site.

Overview

Use the options on the Restore tab to restore files:

  • Choose which files and folders to restore
  • Select the destination from which to restore
  • Recover hidden and deleted files
  • Select which version of a file to restore
  • Choose the restore location and file permissions for the restored files

Restore

Restore overview

Item Description
a From backup destination Lists available destination computers from which you can restore. Choose other backup destinations from the list. The list indicates how long ago the latest backup was completed. This list is present only when there was more than one backup destination for the computer whose files are being restored.
b Find files to restore by name… Searches for a particular file name you wish to restore. The results appear in file tree area.
c File tree Navigate to and select files to restore from file tree. Select or deselect files and folders as needed.
d File selection checkbox Selected - Check mark indicates a file or folder is selected. A checked folder means that the folder's entire contents will be restored.
Deselected - This file or folder is not selected for restore.
e Deleted file If Show deleted files (g) is enabled, your deleted files appear in the file tree.
f Show hidden files Displays or hides hidden temporary and system files. When you select an item to restore, you see total number of files, directories (folders) and space used for items selected to restore.
g Show deleted files Displays deleted files.
h Most recent / date range You can choose the default “most recent” version of the file you wish to restore or you can request a file from a specific date and time. Remember, the latest versions of the files will be restored unless you specify an earlier version. Click the link to cycle through your version options.
i Original / Current permissions

When restoring from another computer, you can elect to restore files with their original file permissions or with the permissions belonging to the current user/computer. Click the link to cycle through your version options.
CrashPlan app versions 4.3.x and earlier: This feature is limited to OS X and Linux.

j Desktop /
Original location /
Folder
Selects location where you want to send restored files. Click the link to cycle through your options.
k Rename / Overwrite Selects whether or not you want existing files (files that are on your computer right now) to be renamed or replaced (overwritten) when restored. Click the link to cycle through your options.
l Restore Begins restore and displays status of your restore process. When your files or folders have been restored, the status bar indicates that the restore is complete.