- CrashPlan for Home
This article provides step-by-step instructions for removing a computer from your CrashPlan account. When a computer is removed, you can no longer back up its files or use it as a destination for other backups.
- When you remove a computer from your account, CrashPlan stops backing up its files and permanently removes all its backed-up files. If you want to back up the computer again later, you must restart your backup.
- You can only deactivate the computers listed under your account. The Deactivate Computer button does not appear for computers listed under another account (for example, a friend's account).
- You must use the CrashPlan app to remove a computer. You cannot remove a computer from the CrashPlan web app.
Removing a computer from your account deletes all of its backed-up files. This is permanent and cannot be reversed. Any previously stored backup information is deleted.
You can remove a computer from any CrashPlan app signed into your account. To remove a computer:
- Open the CrashPlan app on any computer on your account.
You do not have to use the CrashPlan app from the computer that you want to remove.
- Go to Destinations > Computers.
- From the list of your computers, select the computer you'd like to remove.
The text (this one) identifies the computer you are currently using.
- Click Deactivate Computer.