Skip to main content
CrashPlan Support

Limiting The Disk Space A Friend Can Use For Backup

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Home

Overview

Allowing other people to back up to you is a great way to help your friends protect their information. However, you may want to limit the amount of storage they can use for backup. This tutorial explains how to specify the amount of space friends can use.

Considerations

You can specify the amount allowed for each friend backing up to you.

Before you begin

Before you can limit the amount of space a friend can use, you must give your backup code to your friend, and your friend must start backing up to you.

Limit the allotted space for friend backup

Limit allotted space for friend backup

  1. Open the CrashPlan app, and go to Friends.
  2. Select the name of the person you'd like to limit.
  3. From the Allotted space setting, enter the maximum amount of space (in gigabytes) that your friend can use for backup on your computer.
    You must select the radio button for restricting space to enter a value.
  4. Click Save.
You may see a message stating Warning! Backup data may be erased. Files that have already been backed up will not be erased. However, if you create a limit that is less than the amount already backed up, then your friend's computer stops backing up to you immediately.

Reduce the amount of space a friend is using

Considerations

If you set a limit on the size of a friend's backup that is smaller than the amount already backed up to you, their archive is not retroactively reduced to the new limit.

For example, if your friend has 60 GB backed up to your computer, and you set a limit of 30 GB, the amount of space stored on your computer is still 60 GB. However, they do receive a message immediately that their quota has been reached, and they cannot continue backing up to you.

Step 1: Delete your friend's existing backup

If you would like to reduce the size of your friend's archive on your computer, you must first remove your friend's backup.

  1. Open the CrashPlan app, and select Friends.
  2. Select the friend whose archive you want to reduce.
  3. Deselect Allow this friend to back up to this computer.
    An alert displays, "Warning! Backup data may be erased!"
  4. Click Save.
    Your friend's backup is deleted from your computer.

Step 2: Allow backup from your friend

After your friend's backup is removed, re-allow backup from your friend.

  1. Select the friend whose archive you want to reduce.
  2. Re-select Allow this friend to back up to this computer.
  3. Click Save.

Step 3: Start backup and limit allotted space

  1. From the CrashPlan app, your friend must go to Destinations > Friends and click Start Backup for your computer.
  2. From your computer, limit the allotted space your friend can use before the backup exceeds this limit.
  3. Click Save.