As you continue to back up, the size of your backup archive may grow larger and exceed capacity at your backup destinations. To reduce the size of you backup archive, you can:
- Remove files
- Deactivate a computer that is backing up
- On the Backup tab, click Change.
- Clear the check boxes for the files that you want removed from the backup archive.
- Click Ok.
- Choose Destinations > Online.
To remove a file from the backup archive on another destination, on the Destination page choose the tab that corresponds to the location of your archive. Then select the computer, folder or friend that contains your backup.
- Click Compact to remove the deselected files right away.
If you do not click Compact, the deselected will not be removed until archive maintenance is performed.
Deselecting a file from your backup set is not the same as deleting a file.
- When you delete a file (for example, you drag a file to the Trash), CrashPlan retains the deleted file according the “Keep Deleted Files” setting. If you specified that deleted files will be retained for 30 days, you will be able to restore that file for 30 days after it's been deleted.
- When you deselect a file from the backup set, all versions of that file are removed from the backup archive as part of the archive maintenance operation or when you click the Compact button. After the file is removed from the backup archive you will not be able to restore the file.
Only do this if you want to completely remove all of a computer's archives from all destinations. Instructions